Best Quality Indian Made 12 guage shotguns

Posts related to shotguns.
msandhu
One of Us (Nirvana)
One of Us (Nirvana)

Best Quality Indian Made 12 guage shotguns

Post by msandhu » Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:37 pm

Hi Guys,
I know of only few Indian made shotguns. Mainly IOF , Mehar Singh & sons and few others. There are many manufacturers in Jammu and Monghyr (Bihar). Does anyone know which are best or good quality shotguns made in India and also what do they usually cost ?

For Advertising mail webmaster
penpusher

Re: Best Quality Indian Made 12 guage shotguns

Post by penpusher » Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:02 am

The best is still the IOF made shotgun.Have no idea about the price though.

penpusher

sudhakardm
On the way to nirvana
On the way to nirvana

Post by sudhakardm » Wed Feb 07, 2007 2:52 am

Hi

I have been using IOF shot gun since a couple of years. It is a good gun.

Sudhakar
Thanks
Sudhakar

 SAVE TREES

Satpal_S
On the way to nirvana
On the way to nirvana

Post by Satpal_S » Wed Feb 07, 2007 3:55 am

IOF is a OK (not good but OK) gun, post 1968. Avoid the earlier ones, especially the very early ones with ejectors(early 60's).

Weak points were mainsprings would weaken causing misfires. Mainsprings replaced with imported ones and sears properly adjusted, guns will shoot reliably.

Pre hunting Ban days, lot of people used it succesfully for hunting for years(after spring replacement) without problems.

Can be used for light duty target shooting too.

Personally know of guns lasting 1000+ rounds hunting usage, before loosening up. Can be re tightened cheaply by good gunsmith.

Munger and Jammu guns are hit or miss, some are ok, some are not. Quality varies more with Munger guns, which essentially are built on a subcontract basis and travel from shop to shop for work. None though lasts longer than the IOF gun. Use a lot of soft metal internals, versus hardened steel in IOF gun.