Comparison between the FWB 700 al stock and wood stock.

All posts related to air-guns (air-rifles, airsoft, air-pistols, air-guns etc.).
horribleharshad
Learning the ropes
Learning the ropes

Comparison between the FWB 700 al stock and wood stock.

Post by horribleharshad » Sun Oct 22, 2006 1:41 pm

On first seeing the Fwb 700 al stock at a competition I remarked it looked a lot like the FWB 700 but lot nicer. :oops: It was then that my senior told me it was indeed a FWB 700 al stock as to the wood stock we use. I'm an open sight shooter and a complete novice at that.

So my senior told me that the al has a lot more adjustments to customize it to a particular shooter compared to the wood. But on the flip side, it is a lot more delicate and doesn't last as long as the wood one, so our coach got the wood version for our club.

How do the two stack up. Purely academic interest as I don't plan to buy any, but will shoot (probably) in some months the wood with the club, that is if I can butter up A senior to let me try after getting shifted to peep sights. :wink:
Sic Transit Gloria!

For Advertising mail webmaster
Mack The Knife
We post a lot
We post a lot

Post by Mack The Knife » Sun Oct 22, 2006 2:00 pm

Harshad,

I wouldn't know if the Aluminium stock version is weaker than the laminate stock variant but if you read Target Talk, every once in a while you will read posts about broken stocks, including laminated ones and usually at the grip.

I was a bit disappointed with this particular model. To me, FWB always meant good solid engineering but these aluminium bits look like they were castings. Could be totally wrong but at this price point I want parts that have been machined from a solid block.

On reflection, I think your senior's comment may well have some merit to it.

Mack The Knife

mehulkamdar

Re: Comparison between the FWB 700 al stock and wood stock.

Post by mehulkamdar » Sun Oct 22, 2006 9:33 pm