Procedures and tips for licensing and carry for a US born Indian Origin resident

The legal aspects of owning, shooting, importing arms/ ammo and other related legal aspects as well as any other legal queries. Please note: This INCLUDES all arms licensing issues/ queries!
aj6752
Fresh on the boat
Fresh on the boat

Procedures and tips for licensing and carry for a US born Indian Origin resident

Post by aj6752 » Mon Aug 07, 2023 2:24 pm

Hey guys, this is my first time posting here. I'm a US-born woman of Indian origin who moved to India about three years ago. Regarding documents, I have my Adhaar and a lifelong residency permit (OCI). I always had a gun in the US for my safety, but I am weaponless in India.

Getting a gun license here seems daunting, so I would appreciate it if I could get some trustworthy links and tips on licensing procedures, laws, and advice.

I am a frequent solo traveler and drive myself across state lines. I've felt quite uncomfortable many times during this even in the daytime. Still, I must travel as I am the only driver in my family and am in the middle of building a business/house hunting :( I'm also observant about the state of affairs in the country (political/religious tensions) as I recently came across some personal experiences of some women that were being driven home during the recent Haryana riots. Their windows were busted by stones and had a mob coming at them. Luckily, they had a good driver and sped off.

So, regarding the above, I'm being pulled in all directions. All I want is a pistol with a good magazine capacity, which I can carry for my personal safety. Men in my family suggested I go for a revolver as it is less likely to jam and suggested different types of bores and licensing procedures, so I am overwhelmed with all the info.